THLN Announces Endorsements in the 2024 Primary Election

AUSTIN, Texas -- Today, the Texas Humane Legislation Network (THLN) released its endorsements in the 2024 Primary Election. 

THLN endorses candidates based on their overall voting record and platform, performance on animal welfare issues as an incumbent, and their previous record at the local level. Since 1975, THLN has passed essential legislation improving the lives of Texas animals, always with the support and dedication of key elected officials. The list of endorsements demonstrates who THLN believes will fight the hardest for Texas animals in the 2025 legislative session and beyond.

“Animal welfare is a nonpartisan issue. THLN endorses Republican and Democratic candidates who have proven they care about Texas animals and will support the passage of humane legislation,” said Shelby Bobosky, Executive Director of THLN. “We encourage Texas voters who care deeply about the humane treatment of animals to consider our endorsements because, without these advocates back in the Capitol in 2025, it will be much harder to pass animal welfare laws.”

THLN's 2024 Primary Election endorsements are as follows: 

Representative Alma Allen 
Representative Steve Allison
Representative Trent Ashby
Representative Keith Bell
Representative Greg Bonnen
Representative Ben Bumgarner
Representative DeWayne Burns
Representative Angie Chen Button
Representative Giovanni Capriglione
Representative Travis Clardy
Representative Mano DeAyala
Representative Harold Dutton
Representative Justin Holland
Representative Lacey Hull
Representative Jacey Jetton
Representative Venton Jones
Representative Stephanie Klick
Representative Jeff Leach
Representative Ray Lopez
Representative Christian Manuel
Representative Morgan Meyer
Representative Candy Noble
House Speaker Dade Phelan
Representative Ron Reynolds
Representative Glenn Rogers
Representative Matt Shaheen
Representative Reggie Smith
Representative Lynn Stucky
Representative James Talarico
Representative Shawn Thierry
Representative Hubert Vo
Representative Erin Zwiener